Free Consultation  (817) 886-0958

Texas Criminal Defense Lawyer Helping You Get Your Driving Privileges Back

What is an occupational driver license?

According to the Texas Department of Public Safety, if your license has been suspended, revoked or denied for certain offenses, you can request an occupational driver license, which authorizes you to operate a non-commercial motor vehicle as long as the vehicle is used in connection with your work, school-related activities or the performance of essential household duties. Where and when you drive with this license must be prearranged and approved by a judge.

How do I file a petition for a Texas occupational license?

You have a right to file for a restricted driver license if you have not already received one in the last 10 years. To get an occupational license, you must explain your “essential need” in a petition and must file it with the county or district court where you live or in the court of the original jurisdiction where the offense occurred. The judge will hold a hearing on whether or not to issue an order granting you the occupational license. This court order — and all required items, including a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22) and payment of the occupational license fee and reinstatement fee — must be submitted to the Department of Public Safety (DPS) so that the restricted license can be issued. While you are waiting, you can use the court order for 30 days from the date of the judge’s signature while your occupational license is processed.

The reinstatement process can be complicated and frustrating, and an attorney can help you understand the ins and outs of the county or district court where your license was suspended. At The Law Offices of Anthony Simpson, Esq., attorney Anthony Simpson is here to help you find a solution that protects your rights and minimizes any consequences that you may be facing.

Contact a Fort Worth criminal defense lawyer who gets results
  • First offense

Up to $2,000 in fines, 72 hours to 6 months in jail, and license suspension of 90 days up to a year.

Occupational Driver License 

For your free consultation, call The Law Offices of Anthony Simpson, Esq. at (817) 886-0958 or contact Anthony online. Recently, I have been able to get charges dismissed, investigations closed without charges, and offers from the District Attorney significantly reduced. Although I cannot guarantee that I can get you the same result, I can guarantee I will put all of my experience and knowledge to work for you.